Growing Branches

Big Projects, Beginning to End, The Giving Tree

The Giving Tree is growing branches

I’ve begun forging the branches for the tree and can already say this will be my favorite part of the whole project. Now that my little giant power hammer is up and running, I have been able to forge/ taper the metal stock for the branches in only a few days’ time. When I began designing this sculpture I imagined the way the metal would curve and crease as it grew into a branch. Each limb is voluminous and expressive, holding the surface quality it gained when it was yellow hot and as malleable as clay. This is a very satisfying step and makes all the grunt work to get here seem worth while. Except for the grinding, I still don’t like grinding.

Posted by

I create large metal sculptures for public art, smaller items for you and your home, and teach hands on metal workshops in Gainesville, FL. Visit LeslieTharp.com