Creative Blacksmithing with Art Lab

Blacksmithing Workshops, Exploring New Techniques, News from the Shop

Last week I had roughly 35 people crowd into my shop as part of an Art Lab meeting. Everyone had shown up to hear all about blacksmithing, both from my perspective and from that of Mark Armbrecht, a talented farrier, metal artist, and musician here in Gainesville. We had a blast, despite the heat, and hung out late into the night as everyone took turns pounding on the anvils. I rarely open my doors for events this large, but was happy I did and really impressed with the turn out.

Art Lab supplies the local artist community with all sorts of free events and workshops. If you are a local Gainesvillian check out their website at GainesvilleArtLab.org to see what meetings are in the near future. It’s always free to attend and really fun. Just show up and meet other artists and learn cool stuff.

Photos were taken by Colin Curry, Maria Iasevoli Houle, and Kimberly Towner

Posted by

I create large metal sculptures for public art, smaller items for you and your home, and teach hands on metal workshops in Gainesville, FL. Visit LeslieTharp.com